Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Get help installing your Ooma business phone system.
oomamaniacal
Posts:1484
Joined:Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:58 am
Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by oomamaniacal » Sat Aug 22, 2015 6:51 am

redpattison wrote:
Tom B wrote:Have you tried without wireless adapter? With wireless results differ per environment.
No I have not. Would need 25` of Ethernet cable.
I think Tom meant, as an experiment, to move the Telo where it can be connected with the included cable, to test it out for a while and see if that solves the issue.

If the adapter/Wi-Fi environment is the issue, I suggest trying the Linx wireless jack instead of using Wi-Fi. I use three of them and they work fine for me.
Premier Subscriber
Telo One with Four Linx Devices
Google Voice Extensions

redpattison
Posts:30
Joined:Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:57 pm

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by redpattison » Sat Aug 22, 2015 3:46 pm

Yes. Thank you very much for that information.
I have the Linx wireless.
How would you suggest I link up to the Linx.
Please and Thank you.

oomamaniacal
Posts:1484
Joined:Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:58 am

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by oomamaniacal » Sat Aug 22, 2015 5:03 pm

redpattison wrote: How would you suggest I link up to the Linx.
Instead of using Wi-Fi to move your Telo next to your phone, you would wire the Telo to your modem and/or router with Ethernet and then plug in the LInx next to your phone.

If you have the authority to access the wiring in your dwelling and you have a telephone jack near your router, another option would be to separate the outside phone line from your house wiring. Then you could plug the phone cord from the Telo into a wall jack and you would have dial tone at all of your wall jacks. This is usually pretty easy to do, but is a bit more complicated if you have phone company internet instead of cable.
Premier Subscriber
Telo One with Four Linx Devices
Google Voice Extensions

redpattison
Posts:30
Joined:Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:57 pm

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by redpattison » Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:16 pm

Sorry I did not get back to you sooner. Tempus Fugit.
I will try both suggestions tomorrow.
However, what I do find is that if I reboot the ooma unit it is good for a day or so.
Otherwise, still the same problems.
Thank you.

oomamaniacal
Posts:1484
Joined:Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:58 am

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by oomamaniacal » Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:40 pm

That's definitely not normal. My Telo is connected by Ethernet, and it has been so long, I can't remember the last time I needed to reboot.

It may be that you just have a bad environment for Wi-Fi.
Premier Subscriber
Telo One with Four Linx Devices
Google Voice Extensions

redpattison
Posts:30
Joined:Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:57 pm

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by redpattison » Sun Aug 30, 2015 5:57 pm

I wondered that myself. However, both my wireless computers are fast and never a problem.
I am curious if I hard wire to the Ethernet how it will be.
Find out tomorrow. If that turns out to be fine how will 30-40` degrade the system.

murphy
Posts:7510
Joined:Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location:Pennsylvania

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by murphy » Mon Aug 31, 2015 1:30 am

Hard wired is always better than wireless. It's a dedicated link with no interference from your "wireless computers". If a wireless computer has a transmission problem the data is just resent and you are unlikely to notice. With VOIP there is a time dependency on data packets. They must be processed in the correct order or the audio stream would be gibberish. Missed packets are discarded which will degrade the audio stream if there are a lot of them.

With a quality LAN cable the connection can be up to 300 feet long.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

redpattison
Posts:30
Joined:Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:57 pm

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by redpattison » Mon Aug 31, 2015 2:59 pm

Hard wired with Ethernet cable. From my modem to the home on the back of the ooma unit. Did not make any change. Then I thought that maybe I should reset the ooma modem. Made a difference. Time will tell.
Will keep you informed.
Fingers crossed.
Thank you.

kdmc69
Posts:502
Joined:Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:15 pm
Location:Raleigh, NC

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by kdmc69 » Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:06 pm

Are you sure about the connection? Ethernet cable should be run from the modem to the internet connection, not the home connection.
Ooma Customer Since: August 2008
Ooma Equipment: 2 Telos + 2 HD2 Handsets
Ooma Service: Premier
Amped AC 1750 Router
TWC ->Router -> Telo1
TWC ->Router -> Telo2

redpattison
Posts:30
Joined:Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:57 pm

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by redpattison » Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:25 am

Thank you for that.
This morning I unplugged it from Home to Ethernet. Also did a reboot at the same time. After 20 minutes did not reboot. No connection. disconnected the ethernet from the ooma modem to which it then booted up. Plugged the Ethernet into the "internet" on the modem. Tried to dial out, get a dial tone but no ringing tone. Plugged it back into the "home" and back to working again.
Perplexed to say the least.

Post Reply