Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Get help installing your Ooma business phone system.
redpattison
Posts:30
Joined:Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:57 pm
Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by redpattison » Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:24 pm

I have been trying to get connected to my new ooma to replace my last one that did not work properly.
Dropped calls, incoherent voice messages.
Garbled voices when talking to callers.
So I had to buy another unit.
Trying to hook it up has driven me bonkers
I have spoken to their Chatline. No satisfaction what-so-ever.
ooma keep telling me to call them. Duh, how can I call them when my line is down.
My cell phone is for emergencies @ 50cents per minute. Not feasible.
So far I have spent 7 hours trying to get this resolved and what do I get from them now..

"If this can not be resolved we will try again in 3 days" What are they talking about 3 days to solve my problems.
I obviously do not have a phone.

Any suggestions from ex-ooma users as to which company they changed to.

oomamaniacal
Posts:1484
Joined:Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:58 am

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by oomamaniacal » Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:31 pm

If you want to transfer an existing Ooma account to a new Telo, Ooma customer service has to do it. You can't do that yourself online. Maybe you can find a pay phone in your area to make a toll-free call to customer service. I know, pay phones are hard to find these days. :cry:

If your cell phone company is charging you 50 cents a minute, you need to find a different prepaid provider.
Last edited by oomamaniacal on Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Premier Subscriber
Telo One with Four Linx Devices
Google Voice Extensions

bryanlyle
Posts:361
Joined:Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by bryanlyle » Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:36 pm

Buy an Obihai unit (110, 200, 202) and switch to Phonepower. They have an offer that is $59 per year.

My parents have had Ooma for 2 years and I just hooked them up this weekend with the Obi. Call quality had gotten so bad they had stopped using their home phone.

Said calls so far with the Obi have been "pristine".
follow me on twitter: @bryanlyle

redpattison
Posts:30
Joined:Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:57 pm

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by redpattison » Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:45 pm

Thank you for the fast replies.
I was talking to them on line chat. Telling me how to hook it up. Which cable goes where, etc. Nothing worked.

Yes, the cell phone is expensive. Mostly use it for text messages.

Thanks I will research the Obihai unit.

oomamaniacal
Posts:1484
Joined:Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:58 am

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by oomamaniacal » Mon Aug 03, 2015 3:02 pm

bryanlyle wrote:Buy an Obihai unit (110, 200, 202) and switch to Phonepower. They have an offer that is $59 per year.
I am not sure what you get for $59. I am guessing that it is a prepaid promotional contract just for Obitalk users. Their website offers a no contract plan for $19.95/mo. and a one-year prepaid contract for a hundred bucks. Plus you have to pay govt. taxes and fees like Ooma.
Premier Subscriber
Telo One with Four Linx Devices
Google Voice Extensions

oomamaniacal
Posts:1484
Joined:Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:58 am

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by oomamaniacal » Mon Aug 03, 2015 3:29 pm

redpattison wrote:
Thanks I will research the Obihai unit.
I noticed that you posted in the Office section. If you are using Office, the Obihai service plans and hardware may not be comparable.
Premier Subscriber
Telo One with Four Linx Devices
Google Voice Extensions

redpattison
Posts:30
Joined:Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:57 pm

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by redpattison » Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:41 pm

Opps . Thank you will need to post in the correct section. My Bad.
I was so frustrated needed to post to get help.

redpattison
Posts:30
Joined:Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:57 pm

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by redpattison » Fri Aug 21, 2015 4:57 am

Latest update...
Have had the new unit running since Saturday.
First thing Sunday morning and it was disconnected. Called the on line help.
They checked my line and said I had a few glitches.
Monday tried calling Florida, line was terrible. Had to reboot and got a so so connection on my second try.
Phoned the help desk and they did some testing.
Has been sort of OK since then.

Would I recommend ooma? Not at this moment in time. Going to give it a few more weeks. See how it works out.

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4367
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by Tom » Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:48 am

Have you tried without wireless adapter? With wireless results differ per environment.

redpattison
Posts:30
Joined:Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:57 pm

Re: Had to buy another ooma unit. Major problems.

Post by redpattison » Sat Aug 22, 2015 4:36 am

No I have not. Would need 25` of Ethernet cable.

Post Reply