clicks every few seconds

Learn how to troubleshoot any voice quality issues.
User avatar
Leeway
Posts:934
Joined:Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:50 pm
Location:North of Milwaukee WI
Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by Leeway » Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:25 pm

May I jump in here to say that I get the clicking also "IF" I stand one single place in my kitchen. If I am standing in my on my favorite 'lean on the counter & talk on the phone spot', it clicks constantly. Callers tell me that they hear it also. If I move just a little bit, no clicking!!

Take it back to your office and try a tad different location when you are talking if you can? In my case, it is me using my handset and not the base unit. So try either one if you are the only one using the Telo??

Just a thought . . . I know I went nuts with that for a while.

Donna

Beckett24
Posts:1
Joined:Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:37 pm

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by Beckett24 » Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:57 pm

Hi. I had a very similar problem (clicked at least once per second), but it was actually my fault.

I solved the problem! Here's how: I moved the Ooma Telo from downstairs,
where it was sitting on top of the desktop CPU about two inches from the
Motorola DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem and Airport Extreme router, to upstairs. I
hooked up the Ooma Telo to an Airport Express upstairs which is part of our
Wi-Fi system. I am using the Linx in our kitchen upstairs to plug in telephone cable.

I have a feeling that the Ooma Telo and the Linx communicating through RF
were getting interference from the PC power supply when the Ooma Telo was
sitting on top of the CPU box. (Moderator Tom B. who helped me agreed.)

So make sure your Ooma Telo is away from other power supplies.

Jason Wood

RobertR
Posts:18
Joined:Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:13 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by RobertR » Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:14 am

This morning I checked for the clicking on outbound calls from my office and it is still there. I uninstalled my Office box and in its place I installed my Telo box that I brought from my residence. The Telo box works fine and there is no clicking on outbound calls. I take both back to my residence and both work fine with no clicking. Note that the clicking is only on outbound calls and can only be heard by those that I an speaking with. Thanks for all of the comments and help as I have tried those with no luck.
RobertR

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4367
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by Tom » Thu Apr 10, 2014 10:26 am

I've reverted your Office unit back to its original state. The results seem to suggest an environmental issue, even though the telo in the exact same location has no issue. If it was a carrier or config issue you'd expect it to happen at your home also. Please confirm again that the click occurs every 10 sec.

RobertR
Posts:18
Joined:Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:13 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by RobertR » Thu Apr 10, 2014 11:00 am

Unfortunately it is still clicking. I have tried about everything I know of. I do appreciate all of the help and maybe it will clear up in the future. If you can think of anything else I may try please let me know.
RobertR

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4367
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by Tom » Thu Apr 10, 2014 11:17 am

I've changed your Office unit into a Residential one. Please try again.

RobertR
Posts:18
Joined:Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:13 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by RobertR » Thu Apr 10, 2014 11:41 am

Tom It works and no clicking when making out bound calls but when anyone calls my office number it goes into voice mail and I have no way to check it. I have tried to call my office number a few times and the phone does not ring, it goes straight to voice mail. If we can now resolve the inbound calls and voice mail issue that's all I need.
Thanks,
RobertR

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4367
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by Tom » Thu Apr 10, 2014 2:26 pm

Your unit is now back to being an Office unit. The brief change to Residential was just for testing. Please check if on outbound calls the clicking on remote side has returned.

RobertR
Posts:18
Joined:Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:13 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by RobertR » Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:29 pm

Yes it started clicking again when you switched it back.
Thanks,
RobertR

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4367
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by Tom » Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:53 pm

How about now?

Post Reply