clicks every few seconds

Learn how to troubleshoot any voice quality issues.
RobertR
Posts:18
Joined:Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:13 am
Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by RobertR » Mon Mar 24, 2014 8:12 am

I had this problem a few months back and it was resolved. It seems to have returned in the last week as people that I am talking to report a clicking noise every few seconds but I cannot hear it on my end. What do I need to do to resolve this.
Thanks,
Bob

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4371
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by Tom » Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:09 pm

The problem we know of should be fixed in 77309, the version you have, but went ahead and upgraded your unit to the latest release.

RobertR
Posts:18
Joined:Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:13 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by RobertR » Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:55 pm

My phone still clicks every few seconds on outbound calls only. Only those on the other end can hear it. On inbound calls it is perfect for both parties. I have unplugged the modem and Ooma Office unit and brought both back up but still have the problem.

RobertR
Posts:18
Joined:Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:13 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by RobertR » Fri Apr 04, 2014 7:25 am

I have checked all outbound calls for the last three days and everyone hears the click or clicks approximately every 10 seconds. Yesterday I brought my telo unit from my residence and installed it in my office in place of the office unit and it works fine with no clicks. As in my previous post I had this problem late last year and it was resolved but has returned a few weeks ago. When this started happening again I installed a new Docsis 3 modem, changed phones, and had Comcast out to check the cable. Note that this only happens on outbound calls. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
RobertR

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4371
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by Tom » Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:20 am

When making a call from your Office unit to the Residential unit, do you hear a click every 10 sec on the Residential side? How about when you call from Office to your cell?

RobertR
Posts:18
Joined:Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:13 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by RobertR » Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:18 am

Yes, when I call either my cell phone or residential phone the clicking is still there.
Thanks,
RobertR

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4371
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by Tom » Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:59 pm

please try again and let me know if the clicking is still there

RobertR
Posts:18
Joined:Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:13 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by RobertR » Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:14 pm

I just tried both my cell and home and the clicking is still there. This weekend I will take the office box to my residence and set it up from there and see if it still clicks on the outbound calls. I will post what I find out. Thanks for the help.

RobertR
Posts:18
Joined:Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:13 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by RobertR » Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:50 am

I took the Office box home over the weekend and set it up in place of the Telo and it works fine. Both the Telo and Office boxes work from my residence with no clicking problems. I bring both back to my office, set the Telo up first, and it works with no clicking problems. I take the Telo offline and in place install the Office box, reboot, and again the clicking problem returns. What can I try next.
RobertR

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4371
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: clicks every few seconds

Post by Tom » Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:27 pm

Curious results. Just to try I reverted the Office unit to the previous release. Please retest both in your office and at home.

Post Reply