difference between Model Telo102 rev A00 and Telo104 rev A01

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
zpbx
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 6:42 pm

difference between Model Telo102 rev A00 and Telo104 rev A01

Post by zpbx » Mon Dec 16, 2019 6:59 pm

I have been using telo1 revision A00 (Model # TELO102) for many years and its been working great. Last week my parents gifted me new telo1 revision A01 (Model # TELO104). Other than how they look (Telo104 is slimmer than Telo102), is there any significant difference between the two? Any reason to use newer version - faster processor, new features etc.

geoart
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: difference between Model Telo102 rev A00 and Telo104 rev A01

Post by geoart » Tue Dec 31, 2019 8:00 am

The 'TELO101' and 'TELO102' models are the "Telo 1" model, whereas models TELO103 and up are considered their latest called "Telo 2"

Namely, faster and more capable processor, twice the ram and later generation. If you're curious on what's more technically the differences see this post comparing the "Telo 1" vs "Telo 2" (103 model) see https://www.ooma.com/forums/viewtopic.p ... 01#p127201

Possible to post some pictures of the 104 internals? I have the 103 Model purchased in 2014 which externally looks like the ones in their product shots online so curious if 104 has an internal upgrades.

The 104, and even 105 bundle model uses the same FCC/Reg/IC as the 103 so it's likely the same internals and likely just what ooma bundle was purchased maybe..did yours include a handset or wifi adapter? TELOAIR104? or is your model exactly TELO104? The real way to tell the difference is the version number on the board inside.

zpbx
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 6:42 pm

Re: difference between Model Telo102 rev A00 and Telo104 rev A01

Post by zpbx » Thu Jan 02, 2020 3:59 pm

Thanks geoart for your response, link and insights.
I haven't used the new TELO104 (it is not TELOAIR104) yet and it includes a handset. Label outside box says TELO1HD3 and bottom of unit says TELO104 so I wasn't sure if it was "Telo 2"
I'm not even sure if I need it as old TELO102 is working just fine since 2012. As you already explained, it has a better processor, twice the ram and might be able to support security sensors but I don't really need all that so going to give it back to my parents. (I would use it if it was TELOAIR just to get rid of the ethernet cable used with my Telo1)

geoart
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: difference between Model Telo102 rev A00 and Telo104 rev A01

Post by geoart » Fri Jan 03, 2020 9:17 am

No problem - if the current one works then it works and why change. One additional note I just realized is Ooma looks to have stopped pushing updates/fixes (last one was Oct 2017) to the Telo (aka Telo 1) should that be helpful to know in making your decision. Most of the updates however are related to the HD2 and latest HD3 handsets, their security system, and accessories add-ons. btw, you can get their wifi dongle if you wanted or even a cheap alternative if you really want to not use an ethernet cable.

https://www.ooma.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=10

zpbx
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 6:42 pm

Re: difference between Model Telo102 rev A00 and Telo104 rev A01

Post by zpbx » Fri Jan 03, 2020 4:11 pm

I tried the TP-Link wifi adapter (https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-wireless ... B008IFXQFU) with Telo1 and it didn't work although it might work with Telo2. I would try testing tp-link on new telo2 but they suggest not to power-on a new telo without first activating it online so not sure if I want to try it on.
Do you now if NETIS wifi adapter (https://www.newegg.com/netis-wf2120-usb ... 6833389023) works with Telo1?
Thank you.

Post Reply