New to Telo: Alarm system dialing (pulse vs. tone)

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
DIYdude
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 6:31 am

New to Telo: Alarm system dialing (pulse vs. tone)

Post by DIYdude » Wed Jan 01, 2020 8:51 am

I just installed a Telo, with the intention of finally cutting off my copper voice service soon (after porting the number). My alarm system is what has been holding me back, but that company now says it supports Ooma.

I'll be trying a alarm system test in the days ahead (it is a holiday today) with its line connected to Ooma (still have the copper service active), but think I've already run into the first problem. My alarm system currently dials-out in pulse ("rotary") rather than touch-tone (DTMF).

I just tried changing my voice handset to pulse-dialing, and a couple of voice test-dials with Ooma didn't work (TT does). In a search of this board a post said pulse is not supported by Ooma, but an old result found via Google said Ooma does. Which is currently correct?

murphy
Posts: 7313
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: New to Telo: Alarm system dialing (pulse vs. tone)

Post by murphy » Wed Jan 01, 2020 9:46 am

Ooma only supports tone dialing.

Switch your alarm panel to tone dialing and Contact ID reporting format.
The alarm center will have to be involved because the format change will probably require a different phone number to call to reach the correct receiver.

If the alarm panel is already using contact ID then switching to tone dialing is all you need to do in the panel.

The Telo will also need to be put in alarm mode in your Ooma online account.

I kept a land line for my alarm system because the line is underground and no one but me, and maybe the phone company, knows where it is.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

DIYdude
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 6:31 am

Re: New to Telo: Alarm system dialing (pulse vs. tone)

Post by DIYdude » Wed Jan 01, 2020 2:45 pm

Thanks. I see how to switch the dialing-type for my panel, via programming. And have changed, in MyOoma, from voice/fax to alarm. The dial-tone has changed and is now very strong and simple.

I'm not seeing SIA or Contact ID (=CID) in my lengthy installers-manual, so my mid-1990s system may be from before both standards? It will be interesting to see if the panel works, or, if not, if my monitoring company's tech-support can make it do so.

I am reading on-here about 2017 issues with Ooma, and advice that adding *99 and a delay to the dialing may be needed -- I don't know if my panel can do the latter.

DIYdude
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 6:31 am

Re: New to Telo: Alarm system dialing (pulse vs. tone)

Post by DIYdude » Sat Jan 04, 2020 6:13 am

Not much time to work on this swtichover lately, but did go into the alarm system's programming mode. And found that it was already dialing-out by touch-tone. I had, in the past, picked up the phone while it was actively contacting the monitoring station, and I heard dialing-like pulses. So I think it communicates via rotary-like signals, after dialing in touch-tone; I'm reading that Ooma doesn't transmit TT sounds (after dialing), or now regenerates them, and some monitoring-comm problems occur so maybe my system is already optimally set.

I should find out later today, when, weather-permitting, I switch the copper lines from POTS to Ooma (except for one phone until I get the number transferred). Then will test-alarm it again.

FYI -- I contacted the manufacturer of the alarm system via their public tech-support website, and asked if my system was CID or SIA. Their person, seemingly in India, etc., refused to answer, and told me to go to the installer. I told him I'll be sure to tell my hundreds of specifier-friends of Johnson Controls most-excellent customer support.

DIYdude
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 6:31 am

Re: New to Telo: Alarm system dialing (pulse vs. tone)

Post by DIYdude » Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:36 am

It works! :D And with no significant changes to the alarm system. And also via the temporary phone number (I left our POTS service connected to one phone; Ooma is now wired to all the other devices with no POTS interconnection.)

Next is to transfer our original phone number.

DIYdude
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 6:31 am

Re: New to Telo: Alarm system dialing (pulse vs. tone)

Post by DIYdude » Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:04 pm

Impressive! Only took AT&T and Ooma three days to transfer my number. :D

Post Reply