Can’t configure door sensor after adding

Discussion topics covering Ooma Home Security
Jbaugh1010
Posts:3
Joined:Mon Jun 10, 2024 5:46 pm
Can’t configure door sensor after adding

Post by Jbaugh1010 » Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:32 pm

After a power outage today both of my door sensors lost ability to report open/closed status. I deleted both sensors and tried to re-add them. The Ooma Security app reported that he sensor was added. But the processed failed in the configuration process. “Server error. Error from home_monitoring: Connection timed out”. Any ideas or suggestions greatly appreciated.
John

Docyit
Posts:1
Joined:Tue Jun 11, 2024 1:03 pm

Re: Can’t configure door sensor after adding

Post by Docyit » Tue Jun 11, 2024 1:08 pm

As of today, one of my sensors disconnected. I unpaired it and repaired after replacing the batteries.
I am getting same or similar error "cannot connect to server". In addition, my other sensors no longer indicate i opened and closed a door.

What broke? is this a cloud issue with Ooma Security?

law
Posts:27
Joined:Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:23 pm
Location:Southern California

Re: Can’t configure door sensor after adding

Post by law » Tue Jun 11, 2024 9:29 pm

I’m getting server errors the last couple of days. I think Ooma must have a problem on their end. I unpaired and repaired a sensor. Notifications came in 12 hours later. My log is not catching motion or door openings. Something is terribly wrong.

8142040577
Posts:10
Joined:Wed May 03, 2023 11:11 am

Re: Can’t configure door sensor after adding

Post by 8142040577 » Wed Jun 12, 2024 2:58 am

Same here server error or data is nil error when opening app. Called support. They indicated that their servers were having issues and they were working on the problem. Since this is a secuirty platform I would expect better service since its been down for almost 24 hours :o. Hopefully an ooma rep sees this. Since the service is down when I came home yesterday my alarm could not be shut off so all 4 of my sirens went off. I had to unplug and remove the batteries from all of them to shut them up :(.
Last edited by 8142040577 on Wed Jun 12, 2024 6:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

zed173
Posts:4
Joined:Wed Jun 12, 2024 6:39 am

Re: Can’t configure door sensor after adding

Post by zed173 » Wed Jun 12, 2024 6:41 am

Having the exact same problem, no sensors appear in the app, if i logout I cannot log back in.

Also had the same fun as the previous poster with all my alarms going off. This has been going on too long and the radio silence is killing me.

8142040577
Posts:10
Joined:Wed May 03, 2023 11:11 am

Re: Can’t configure door sensor after adding

Post by 8142040577 » Wed Jun 12, 2024 6:57 am

What is disturbing is they will not update their status page to show it is down. If they would just update the status page and let everyone know the progress we wouldn’t have to come here and complain.

https://support.ooma.com/security/

zed173
Posts:4
Joined:Wed Jun 12, 2024 6:39 am

Re: Can’t configure door sensor after adding

Post by zed173 » Wed Jun 12, 2024 12:05 pm

Seems it's updated now, though no ETA and like someone else mentioned it's already been 24hrs. I've really enjoyed this service but my confidence is pretty shaken now. I hope it's fixed soon and this never happens again.

zed173
Posts:4
Joined:Wed Jun 12, 2024 6:39 am

Re: Can’t configure door sensor after adding

Post by zed173 » Wed Jun 12, 2024 3:26 pm

So can we update the title of this thread? It's still broken. I logged out of the security app on my phone and when I try to login anymore it just says a weird error message of "not found". That does not inspire confidence. On my wife's phone who's NOT logged out, when she opens it it just shows no sensors at all. If I was about to go on vacation for a week or two this would be making me really nervous. I think when it comes to home security trust is key, and there is no transparency here at all. At least a little explanation would go a long way.

8142040577
Posts:10
Joined:Wed May 03, 2023 11:11 am

Re: Can’t configure door sensor after adding

Post by 8142040577 » Wed Jun 12, 2024 4:04 pm

I agree with the previous posters response. I am a network engineer and from experience I find it extremely concerning that this system does not have a backup in place. If I were to take 48 hours to correct a problem with mission critical infrastructure I would not be employed very long. Please explain the problem to your customers. A vague explanation or comment is not sufficient. A lot of us are technical so we will get it. Thanks in advance ooma engineers.

8142040577
Posts:10
Joined:Wed May 03, 2023 11:11 am

Re: Can’t configure door sensor after adding

Post by 8142040577 » Wed Jun 12, 2024 4:39 pm

As of 838pm eastern my ooma system is back online and sensors are responding normally. Fingers crosses

Post Reply