Ooma Home Security User Interface

Discussion topics covering Ooma Home Security
Lt. Cold Case
Ooma Home Security User Interface

Post by Lt. Cold Case » Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:46 pm

I'm new to the Ooma Home Security System, and I'm a bit unclear on a few things. I've got several questions about how to use the system. If the information I am seeking exists, perhaps someone can steer me to it (because I haven't stumbled across it on my own). If the information doesn't yet exist, hopefully someone who works for Ooma might pass this onto the App Developers for consideration. I just retired from a 27 year career in law enforcement, 24 years of which were in the investigations division. I may know a thing or two about alarm systems - what works, what doesn't, what helps make cases and what doesn't.

1. As far as I can tell, the only way to control the Home Security System (Alarm) is via mobile phone app. Is this the case? Can the system be controlled by means of any of the Telo buttons? From a handset?

2. If I am correct in #1 above, then I must install the app for anyone needing to access my home. This sounds like a good solution on the surface, but it is problematic for the following reasons:

2A: All apps appear to have the same administrative privileges. Whether my phone, my wife's, or that of anyone else, such as a house sitter or babysitter, they all use my Ooma username and password - this is the same one that controls all aspects of my Ooma account. Anyone could enable services I don't want, or disable services I do want. They could change my service address. They can change the notifications selected for each sensor. They can modify the schedule(s). I'd get a notification on the service address change, but not on some of the other changes they could make.