Ping

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
kpb
Ping

Post by kpb » Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:33 am

Why is it that the OOMA speed test at http://support.ooma.com/home/speed-test/ always gives me a higher ping rating (usually 4x higher) then other Ookla speedtest sites?

When I call OOMA about dropped calls they often tell me to call my internet provider (SHAW) because of the PING response. Then my internet provider runs their own test and says that it is fine and nothing changes.

Sick of having to constantly troubleshoot a voip phone.

Any suggestions?

robertm101

Re: Ping

Post by robertm101 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:38 pm

Wow. I've never used the ooma speed test before and just tried it. It has my pings at 87, but through other speed test sites its only between 8 and 10.
There's no way ooma's speed test is accurate. It even has my download speeds at 94 mbs, but at other sites its 985 mbs.
Almost like they've created a site to use as an excuse if you're experience poor call quality.

TonyW

Post by TonyW » Fri Aug 10, 2018 7:06 am

Speed test results depend a lot on where the test server is hosted relative to your location.

The speed of a connection is just one, of may, aspects which can affect call quality.

Try a more comprehensive test like this: http://www.whichvoip.com/voip-test.htm

& if the results report issues, make sure to scroll down to view troubleshooting tips.

kpb

Post by kpb » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:59 am

Thanks Tony.
I have used that test site many times and I get all green results 95% of the time. The other times I get 1-2 yellow results.

andyross

Post by andyross » Sat Aug 11, 2018 6:36 am