Hub to Router works better. Why?

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
oomasan
Hub to Router works better. Why?

Post by oomasan » Sun Feb 01, 2009 10:54 am

Hello all,

I am new to ooma.
My original setup was the recommended one: Modem>ooma Hub>Router. It simply throttled my web experience to almost dialup levels.
I changed setup to: Modem>Router>ooma Hub. Now everything is well :)
What would cause this?
My ISP is Comcast Cable and the router is a Belkin Pre-N wireless model.

Thanks!

frenchcamp49er

Re: Hub to Router works better. Why?

Post by frenchcamp49er » Sun Feb 01, 2009 1:35 pm

I have mine set up this way, did not try the recommended route, but I also have no problems.
Customer Since: January 2009
Ooma Hardware: Ooma Hub/Scout; Telo 04/02/10
Ooma Service: Premier Lifetime (Since December 2009)

Bobby B
Ooma Moderator

Post by Bobby B » Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:15 am

In most cases Hub behind the modem works OK. It's just if you're running bandwidth-intensive Internet traffic (such as bittorrent, or uploading video) the Hub won't be able to prioritize voice conversations over other data.

Were you seeing decreased upload or download (or both) speeds? Did you only observe these decreases when you were on a call? Did you try adjusting your QoS?

oomasan wrote:Hello all,

I am new to ooma.
My original setup was the recommended one: Modem>ooma Hub>Router. It simply throttled my web experience to almost dialup levels.
I changed setup to: Modem>Router>ooma Hub. Now everything is well :)
What would cause this?
My ISP is Comcast Cable and the router is a Belkin Pre-N wireless model.

Thanks!
Bobby B

ooma user

Post by ooma user » Sun Feb 15, 2009 8:19 pm

Hello,