Call Quality/Echo

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
ram104
Call Quality/Echo

Post by ram104 » Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:08 pm

Hello,
I'm new to Ooma and love it, but have a question regarding how people on the other end hear me.
I have Comcast as a internet provider and have hooked up my Ooma hub directly to the modem and then to the router which is an apple airport extreme.
The model of my cable modem is a Linksys BEFCMU10 ver3 and I did a speed test which is:
http://speed.io/pics/1713/7258/speed.io.png
if that link dosen't work the d/l 4144 and u/l 372
When I call people they complain of echoing and some crackling.
Any suggestions.
Thanks.

murphy

Re: Call Quality/Echo

Post by murphy » Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:49 pm

Did you log into the ooma hub and change the upstream Qos number to match what your Comcast upload speed is supposed to be? It defaults to 384.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

inrame

Post by inrame » Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:17 pm

you might want to experiment with different QoS settings. this article http://cp-ooma.talismaonline.com/al/126 ... 1450&bt=4n indicates best results are achieved at setting about 20% below u/l speed. everyone's situations is a little different partly due to variations of speed throughout the day.

ram104

Post by ram104 » Sun Feb 15, 2009 9:33 pm

The upstream is set at 384 and the downstream says 0.
Also if I may add to my original post. Comcast tells me I should be getting downloads up yo 15mbs, but really its about 4mbs. Where I have an older cable modem, Linksys BEFCMU10 Ver3, do you think a different cable modem would achieve better speeds or no.
Again thanks.

d/l=4111 kbs
u/p=315 kbs

murphy

Post by murphy » Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:07 am