Please help - multiple OOMA issues

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
OptiMist
Please help - multiple OOMA issues

Post by OptiMist » Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:23 pm

I have been using OOMA Telo without problem for several months. But recently I started to experience several issues:

Problem 1:
Recently I noticed that when I am in a call using OOMA, I cannot use intenet on my PC. When I click links - browser spins indefinetely. As soon as I hang up OOMA, my browser on PC starts working.

I have 2WIRE (modem/router combo). PC is plugged in port 1; OOMA is pugged in port 2.

Problem 2:
I do not hear any dialing after I enter the number to call . But after a long silence, call suddenly connects - I hear the answering party. I.e. I dial number => very long silence => all of a sudden party answers

Problem 3:
When people call me, they hear OOMA answering: "Phone … can take your call right now". I.e. I do not receive calls.

It seems like all 3 problems started together, and I have a feeling they are realted.
I hope someone have idea how to fix it.

EX Bell

Re: Please help - multiple OOMA issues

Post by EX Bell » Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:19 pm

2Wire strikes again! Try reading the posts here and see if this info is helpful.

It sounds like you have not set up Quality of Service (QoS), but since the Telo is after the 2Wire which has a router built in, you have to set both QoS setting in the Telo to zero. However, not all 2Wire firmware is going to have QoS, so you may need to put in another router (I recommend Cisco Linksys) after the 2Wire, but before the Telo. Better still, ditch the 2Wire if you can and get a better Modem from your ISP or purchase your own. Then add your own Cisco router after it and the Telo after that.