Loooong delay in outbound call connect time

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Al_from_NJ
Loooong delay in outbound call connect time

Post by Al_from_NJ » Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:51 pm

I'm new to Ooma and am very disappointed with the amount of time it appears to take to establish a call when dialing out. After my telephone finishes dialing, it can take 10-15 SECONDS of silence before I hear the LOCAL called number ringing. In some instances, no connection is made to the dialed party and I'm returned to dial-tone before the call is dropped; in other cases, the connection is made, but I continue to hear a few seconds of silence as the called party or voice-mail begins to respond. In all cases where a connection is made, the sound quality is good and there's no echo or sound distortion.

Perhaps I've been spoiled by years of AT&T landline or Comcast/Xfinity VoIP service, but I consider this lag, delay, excessive latency, or whatever unacceptable and I'm weighing switching from Ooma to another provider whose service is consistently more reliable and for whom I don't feel I have to play system engineer or tester, particularly for the really basic service that I require. I have found the Ooma Support people to be very polite and well-meaning, but they have not resolved this problem and have assured me that all is well and they will continue to investigate.

Here are some details about my setup:

Phones - Panasonic 5-handset TGF-370 DECT 6.0 cordless phone system, with base station connected directly to the Telo.