Hub or Telo

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
tigercruise
Hub or Telo

Post by tigercruise » Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:42 am

Which is better?

southsound

Re: Hub or Telo

Post by southsound » Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:45 am

I posted this answer to your question in another thread:
southsound wrote:
tigercruise wrote:
southsound wrote: I used to work for ATT and PacBell so I think I can get things to work fine for you without having to give up the hub which I personally like better than the Telo.
Why the hub better? I'm new to Ooma so bear with me. I purchased the Telo thinking it was an upgrade over the hub (which was cheaper). So, why do you like the hub better? Thanks.
Let me try to explain my personal feelings. I have used the hub since February - the Telo since late August. When I bought the hub it was rock solid but I had a really bad problem with echo. ooma was able to fix that by examining my call records and comparing the suspect calls with their routing logs. In a few weeks my service went from "variable" to "stellar" and has stayed that way. When I first started using the Telo it had some issues that have since been corrected by numerous updates to the software that are automatically "pushed" to the unit. Every day my experience gets better with it. The Telo also has a different processor, different VOIP software platform, and will be the system that is capable of doing things that the hub will not merely because of these differences. It also has a built-in DECT 6.0 base that interacts with the proprietary Telo handset. This handset looks great in pictures, but for older eyes like mine, I need glasses to use it. Not true of my Uniden DECT 6.0 handsets. I can even read them in the dark. Some day, I imagine, ooma will put out a new version of the handset that will work with the existing Telo but will have the state of the art display that it is now lacking.