Lifespan Estimate of Ooma Box

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
triton46
Lifespan Estimate of Ooma Box

Post by triton46 » Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:32 pm

I just passed a blissful year with my Ooma box. I have had no trouble and enjoy the service quite a bit. The yearly reminder came up to purchase a 1-year warranty...which got me thinking...how long do these things last? I have computers (I work in IT) that have lasted for years with little to no hardware failures. If the Ooma box lasts 5 years, it would negate getting the warranty every year.

Since I have only had it a year. Can other members (+3 years) comment on their hardware experence?

Cyberchat

Re: Lifespan Estimate of Ooma Box

Post by Cyberchat » Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:06 pm

triton46 wrote:I just passed a blissful year with my Ooma box. I have had no trouble and enjoy the service quite a bit. The yearly reminder came up to purchase a 1-year warranty...which got me thinking...how long do these things last? I have computers (I work in IT) that have lasted for years with little to no hardware failures. If the Ooma box lasts 5 years, it would negate getting the warranty every year.

Since I have only had it a year. Can other members (+3 years) comment on their hardware experence?
Triton46,

I've been an OOMA Telo User for about two years, not +3 years. I noted from several discussions in this forum that the Telo seemed to have a number of failures requiring a replcement from about 15-24 months. I purchased the two-year extended warranty because of this information. My Telo failed at 19 months in spite of the fact that is was hooked up to a UPS system with strong surge protection. OOMA Customer Support got the replacement Telo to me (about 2500 miles) on the second day. Its been fine since. If offered, I'll continue to purchase the extended warranty for this product.