Replacement power adapter

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
SD_Ooma
Replacement power adapter

Post by SD_Ooma » Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:50 pm

I lost my power adapter for my Ooma Telo. Saw mixed reviews online as to what could be a correct specification. Even the Ooma chat mentioned there are 2 types - 2V and 3V and that i shud call support to get accurate info. Support said they have only 2V in stock. On the back of my Ooma device i see 5 VDC and 3V mentioned. I bought it on amazon in Dec 2018. Some on Amazon even wrote they got incorrect adapters from Ooma when they bought their device. So I wanted to check anyones experience here. I am a novice when it comes to difference between 2V and 3V :|

Please suggest what would work for me.
Attachments
IMG_3990_2.jpg
IMG_3990_2.jpg (10.28KiB)Viewed 4009 times

murphy

Re: Replacement power adapter

Post by murphy » Fri Jul 17, 2020 3:42 pm

Your picture shows 5 volts and 3 amps. That will work as long as it has the same DC power connector as the original and the center connection is the + terminal.

All Telos are 5 volts.

The Telo adapter is 5 volts and 2 amps.
The voltage must be exactly the same. The current (amps) rating must be equal to or greater than the original part.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

SD_Ooma

Post by SD_Ooma » Sat Jul 18, 2020 12:15 pm

Thanks for the input Murphy. So i understand i can trust the 2A adapter Ooma is offering to work. Correct me if I am wrong.

murphy

Post by murphy » Sat Jul 18, 2020 4:06 pm

The Ooma replacement adapter will work.

SD_Ooma

Post by SD_Ooma » Mon Jul 20, 2020 1:19 am

Thank You. Ordered.

SD_Ooma

Post by SD_Ooma » Mon Jul 20, 2020 3:29 pm

Luckily i could locate the adapter but I have a different issue now! The ooma device doesn't start up!