Answering machine records 30 seconds of dialtone

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Why
Posts:3
Joined:Mon Dec 21, 2015 12:22 pm
Answering machine records 30 seconds of dialtone

Post by Why » Mon Dec 21, 2015 12:34 pm

This is incredibly annoying and will eventually lead me to getting rid of Ooma altogether. Every time my answering machine records a call it doesn't recognize when the call ends, thusly it always records crap loads of dialtone.

In searching online I've seen several references to the "disconnect timeout" being the issue. I guess Ooma isn't allowing enough 'dead time' before starting a new dialtone after a call ends.

How can I increase this timeout? There are references to people increasing this timeout themselves but that was from posts dated a couple years ago, this ability seems to have been removed (as has every other useful feature it seems).

Quite frankly, we should be able to disable this behavior altogether. It should just cut the connection after the other party hangs up and not be able to start a new call until after my answering machine ALSO hangs up.

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4372
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: Answering machine records 30 seconds of dialtone

Post by Tom » Mon Dec 21, 2015 3:05 pm

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19714 ' Fix issue where a remote hangup triggers a flash on the line'. This fix disables 'Answering Machine Hangup' on telo2, but it can be re-enabled upon request. Just chat/call support and ask them to enable it in the customer config. Have done so for your account.

The only drawback is that the bug mentioned will return. For some this is not an issue though, so it's a tradeoff between one or the other. A final fix for this issue will be in the next release.

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4372
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: Answering machine records 30 seconds of dialtone

Post by Tom » Wed Mar 23, 2016 10:08 am

Apotheosis, change applied.

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4372
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: Answering machine records 30 seconds of dialtone

Post by Tom » Thu Jun 02, 2016 11:44 am

tomfox, change applied.

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4372
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: Answering machine records 30 seconds of dialtone

Post by Tom » Sat Jun 04, 2016 6:29 am

lesh8210, change applied.

pete_c
Posts:28
Joined:Fri Apr 08, 2011 8:20 pm
Location:Midwest, USA

Re: Answering machine records 30 seconds of dialtone

Post by pete_c » Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:51 am

Hello Tom B,

Recently went to Ooma Premier service and using two phone lines connected to my Panasonic Base/Answering machine.

I am noticing similar relating to messages left and 30 seconds of dial tone.

My Ooma Telo is on firmware version #156394.

Can you please help?
Pete
Automator

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4372
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: Answering machine records 30 seconds of dialtone

Post by Tom » Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:56 am

Currently on a telo1 the disconnect param is not configurable. It's fixed at 650ms which works for most answering machines. Configure option will be available in the next release.

pete_c
Posts:28
Joined:Fri Apr 08, 2011 8:20 pm
Location:Midwest, USA

Re: Answering machine records 30 seconds of dialtone

Post by pete_c » Tue Sep 27, 2016 3:56 pm

Thank you Tom B.

I look forward to the next release of firmware.
Pete
Automator

boss22
Posts:5
Joined:Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:39 am

Re: Answering machine records 30 seconds of dialtone

Post by boss22 » Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:50 am

Hello Tom B,

I am also experiencing this issue. You can hear the dial tone for 10 seconds after the person calling hangs up. I have a GE phone with a built answering machine. I tried contacting chat support and they were unable to help. Also, when can we expect to see the next release?

Can you please help?

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts:4372
Joined:Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: Answering machine records 30 seconds of dialtone

Post by Tom » Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:04 am

done

Post Reply