OomaTelo DP1-T Desk Telephone

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
oomamaniacal
Posts: 1483
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:58 am

Re: OomaTelo DP1-T Desk Telephone

Post by oomamaniacal » Sat Aug 11, 2018 10:30 am

A reviewer on Amazon said that the headset voice quality is bad also. She tried three different headsets and they all sounded horrible. She is going to return the phone.

I would keep your eye on the end of the return period in case the "fix" takes a while. Otherwise, you might have an expensive brick.
Premier Subscriber
Telo One with Four Linx Devices
Google Voice Extensions

BurDav
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:27 am

Re: OomaTelo DP1-T Desk Telephone

Post by BurDav » Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:40 am

I purchased the DP1 Office Phone and have been using it for a few weeks. It has a few things that needing getting used to but over all I do like it. However a number of people calling me have told me that the microphone is very loud even though I have it turned down. As well as listening to the person on the other end is not as high quality as I had hoped. ---- So I popped over to GoodWill and purchased a headset from a used office phone and plugged it into mine. That seemed have corrected this issue and now the phone works great. The problem is that the new headset does not fit into the same spot that the factory headset sat.... so I have one headset just sitting on my desk and the factory headset keeps the phone off when I am not using it.

I'm not sure if Ooma ready these posts but.... Is that any change of purchasing a higher quality headset? I am pretty sure the low reviews on Amazon would be much much better if you shipped a headset that was of equal or higher quality then the phone itself.

Just wondering. :)

henleyt
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:20 pm

Re: OomaTelo DP1-T Desk Telephone

Post by henleyt » Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:24 pm

I have this phone. Just bought it. It is stuck in an upgrading "loop". It keeps erasing and attempting to upgrade. Let it sit overnight... same issue. Called customer service. No luck. Trying to return the item. Ooma trying to pass me off to advanced technical support.
I should have checked the reviews before buying. I would have avoided it...

***UPDATE***

I figured it out!
If caught in an update loop, unplug the phone AND the base station. I plugged the phone in first. It was searching for the ooma. After the ooma device came online, the update was successfully delivered to the DP1 phone.
Phone works and quality seems ok. Will continue to test and report back on this post if another issue is found.
T

Post Reply