How to install Panasonic to work with Ooma Telo

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
puedeba2004
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 11:36 am

How to install Panasonic to work with Ooma Telo

Post by puedeba2004 » Fri Jan 10, 2020 11:45 am

Yesterday I bought an Ooma Telo and a Costco Panasonic KX-TG986SK Dect 6 bluetooth enabled, 5 handsets.

I hooked everything up after charging the Panasonic handsets and base station, but the Panasonic doesn't answer the phone when I call my Ooma number. I attached the Panasonic base station as if it was a phone handset but I suspect I am supposed to do something more to make it work. Sorry for seeming so computer illiterate, which I am, lol, so I would really appreciate any help you can give me in making the Ooma/Panasonic work. Thanks in advance.

murphy
Posts: 7313
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: How to install Panasonic to work with Ooma Telo

Post by murphy » Fri Jan 10, 2020 11:49 am

Connect a phone cable from the Panasonic base station to the phone jack on the Telo. The DECT 6 built into the Telo only works with Ooma handsets.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

puedeba2004
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 11:36 am

Re: How to install Panasonic to work with Ooma Telo

Post by puedeba2004 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 6:12 pm

Thank you for your advice. Okay, I connected the Ooma to the Panasonic base station with a phone cable but the Panasonic doesn't answer the Ooma when I call my Ooma phone number. Any thoughts?

bobaz
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 1:03 pm

Re: How to install Panasonic to work with Ooma Telo

Post by bobaz » Sun Mar 08, 2020 12:48 pm

I have an older Panasonic KX-TG9321 two-line base station with six KX-TGA939T handsets. I plugged the base station into the Ooma phone jack, and the Ooma number is now working fine as line 1 on the Panasonic handsets. And I can still use the Ooma HD3 handset as well! (I'm terminating line 2 telco service so mostly don't care that the Panasonic handset displays say "check line 2".)

Post Reply